Canadian Cooperative Securities Regulator Gains Ground: Saskatchewan and New Brunswick Join Ontario and British Columbia

On July 9, 2014, Saskatchewan and New Brunswick signed an agreement to participate with British Columbia, Ontario and the federal government to establish the Cooperative Capital Markets Regulatory System, a common, self-funded securities regulator for participating jurisdictions in Canada. Together, the four participating provinces represent approximately 55% of the Canadian market capitalization[i]. This new regulator is scheduled to commence operations in Fall 2015, and draft legislation relating to this regulator is expected to be published by August 29, 2014[ii].… ... View full post